National Philanthropy Day

Thank you to everyone who helped us celebrate the 2015 National Philanthropy Day Award Winners!

2015 Award Winners

Philanthropist of the Year:  Tracy Lawrence

Fundraising Volunteer of the Year:  Sandra Lipman

Corporate Philanthropist:  Delta Dental

Rising Star Youth Fundraising Volunteers:  Be Happy Haiti - Emma Hall, Brooke and Blair Ely

Fundraising Professional of the Year:  Erin Wenzel, CFRE 

What is NPD?  Our local Association of Fundraising Professionals chapter started the program in the late 80’s, and you will see from the attached list that we have honored incredible and generous community leaders. 

Philanthropy is “the love of humankind,” and National Philanthropy Day® (NPD)—November 15—is the day that thousands of people around the world come together to both (1) put that word into action and (2) recognize the change that word has brought to our communities.  NPD is a celebration of philanthropy—giving, volunteering and charitable engagement—that highlights the accomplishments, large and small, that philanthropy—and all those involved in the philanthropic process—makes to our society and our world.  National Philanthropy Day® is both an official day and a grassroots movement.  Every year, since 1986 when President Ronald Reagan first proclaimed November 15th as National Philanthropy Day®, communities across the globe have celebrated by hosting events to recognize activities of donors, volunteers, foundations, leaders, corporations, and others engaged in philanthropy.  The national honors was celebrated on November 11 in New York City.  Here is the link for that information:

Since 1960, the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) has inspired global change and supported efforts that generated over $1 trillion. AFP's over 33,000 individual and organizational members in over 230 chapters throughout the world raise over $100 billion annually, equivalent to one-third of all charitable giving in North America and millions more around the world. 

Thank You to Our Sponsors:




NPD Past Award Recipients - AFP Nashville Chapter

Philanthropists of the Year
Michael W. Smith 2014
Vince Gill 2013
Carl and Connie Haley 2012
Lee Ann and Orrin Ingram 2011
Colleen and Ted Welch 2010
Beverly and Jimmy Small 2009
Jan and Jim Carell 2008
Janet and Jim Ayers 2007
Shaun and Gordon Inman 2006
the late Steve McNair 2005
Judy and Steve Turner 2004
Patricia and Thomas F. Frist, Jr. 2003
Michelle and Clayton McWhorter 2002
Ellen and Charles Martin 2001
Patricia and Rodes Hart 2000
Susan Simons 1999
Jeanette Rudy 1998
Samuel H. Howard 1997
Miles Ezell, Jr. 1996
Mr. & Mrs. William C. Weaver II 1995
Martha R. Ingram 1994
the late Leah Rose Werthan 1993
Carroll Shanks 1992
Ralph Mosley 1991
Tom Irvin 1990
the late Mary Jane Werthan 1989
the late David K. “Pat” Wilson 1988
Corporate Philanthropist of the Year
SunTrust Bank – SunTrust Foundation 2014
Predators Foundation 2013
Regions Bank 2012
Dollar General Corp. 2011
Nissan North America 2010
Loews Vanderbilt Hotel 2009
Publix Super Market Charities 2008
Colliers Turley Martin Tucker 2007
Louisiana-Pacific Corporation 2006
Bridgestone Firestone 2005
HCA 2004
AmSouth Bank 2003
Waller Lansden Dortch & Davis 2002
Dell Computer 2001
The Danner Company 2000
The Kroger Company 1999
New Faces in Philanthropy
Kristen Drake 2011
Renata Soto 2011
DeeDee Wade 2011
Fundraising Volunteer of the Year
Lisa Cheek 2014
Carol Daniels 2013
Pam Dishman 2012
E. Warner Bass 2011
James R. “Duke” Kennedy 2010
Kevin Smith 2009
C. Wright Pinson, M.D. 2008
Lee A. Beaman 2007
Jim Hunt and Diamond Rio 2006
Thomas Wylly 2005
Marsha Williams 2005
Anne L. Russell 2004
Barbara Daane 2003
Deborah “Debi” Taylor Tate 2002
Cathy Stewart Brown 2001
Karen and Bruce Moore 2000
the late Monroe J. Carell, Jr. 1999
Youth Volunteer of the Year
Megan Hamilton, Will McCollum & Mac Muir 2014
TN UMC Youth Service Fund Design Team 2013  
Brian Cook 2012
Ellie Ambrose 2011
Jamie Grimstad 2010
Matthew Hamilton 2008
Alexis Holmes 2006
Mary Catherine Fixel 2005
Edleda Crawford 2004
Joy Baxter 2003
Emily Simon 2002
Fundraising Professional of the Year
Paige Matthews, CRFE 2014
Art Woods, CRFE 2013
Pam King, J.D., CFRE 2012
Susan Williams, CFRE 2011
Jeff Jowdy, CFRE 2010
Larry Coppock, CFRE 2009
Cheryl Davis, CFRE 2008
Pam Brown, CFRE 2007
Jeff Parsley 2006
Kristie Ryan, CFRE 2005
Mark McFerran, CFRE 2004
Susan Plageman, CFRE 2003
Susan Earl Hosbach, CFRE 2002
J. Gregory Pope, CFRE, FAHP 2001
Martha Farabee, CFRE 2000



Photos from the  2014 NPD Event


nashville graphic design and nashville web design by JLB